Cable Ready

Time for the Fun Part!

I just tried all three pieces on (ok, well, it was kinda awkward since they’re not attached yet) and have concluded that it’s time to pull this act together.

The sleeves could be an inch too long, but the cute garter stitch cuff folds back and still looks great.  So there’s some leeway there!  The original pattern called for CO 4o for the sleeves and I thought they were too wide.  I backed off to CO 32.  This called for extra increasing to get to the final stitch count (to make the yoke work).  I should have increased every 6 rows instead of every 8.  That’s why the sleeves are long!  If I like this sweater as much as I think I will, I may use this template again.  Next time, the CO for the cuffs will be 36.

I love the weight of this yarn.  It’s City Tweed HW from Knit Picks in the Jacquard colorway.  I can tell that the sweater will feel substantial.  I bought 7 balls but it’s looking like I will use less than 6.

OK, off to make the Big Join and get started on the cable yoke!

Edit: this is from a pattern by Ann Budd.  See previous post.

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


