Socked In

They’re saying it will be a blizzard, but it’s just getting started … I’m planning to stay in all day tomorrow and should have some time to turn a couple of heels, yeah!

“What heels?”, you may ask … I’ve been so busy, I haven’t had time to post.  But I HAVE used whatever free time I could find to knit a little!  I grabbed some yarn from the stash and the needles from the last pair of socks (still in their project bags, not put away … hey, I’ve been busy!) and fired up a pair of toe-up socks just to have something going.  The tweedy yarn was calling for something in the cable realm but I wanted another easy pair, so I decided to use a nifty stitch pattern from one of the scarves on the 2008 Christmas list … the “yarn-over cable” from Barbara Walker’s indispensable “Treasury of Knitting Patterns”.  It’s not really a cable, it uses a slip stitch decrease followed (on the next row) by a yarn-over to restore the stitch count. But it looks like a cable with a little hole in the middle — cool!  It’s easy and effective and, from what I can see so far, makes a nice ribbing.  Here’s a pic I took almost a week ago:

As noted, I’m about to turn the heels.  That could take some experimenting cuz I’m planning to put the cable rib on the heel instead of a heel stitch but haven’t really thought it all out yet, ha ha!

Oh, I also started some lace.  For 2007 Christmas knitting, I made lots of lace scarves and gave them all away, forgot to make one for myself!  I’ve had the yarn but never got around to getting started on it.  Until a couple of weeks ago, that is:

This does not look impressive, but patience is necessary.  Blocking will reveal something pretty in the end!

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


