The Real Heel Deal

I’ve only been knitting in odd moments because life is really busy right now!  I’m enjoying all of the busy-ness but will appreciate settling into a (new) routine in a month or two.  All knitting lately has been on the Blackrose socks.  They’re portable, so they’re the ones most likely to be at hand when a few spare minutes pop up. 

I love the pattern because it’s easy, but it still holds enough interest to keep a sock knitter motivated!  First, the lace pattern has only 4 “workhorse” rows but yields a satisfyingly complex-looking design.  Second, the areas of stockinette show off the kettle-dyed yarn nicely.   Here they are with both gussets just completed:

Here’s a closer peek at the decorative pattern:

I’ve struggled with short row heels in the past, so I substituted a heel of my own choosing for these socks.  To add further to the interest, I tried an all-new stitch pattern for the heel flap:

 

This is from one of Barbara G. Walker’s stitch treasuries (surprise!) and it’s called the Fluted Fabric stitch.  I thought it might serve as a nice heel stitch because, just like the traditional heel stitch, it’s a two row pattern which uses slipped stitches.  I LOVE how it looks … and the coolest discovery is that the wrong side looks great too!  I may even like it better than the right side … keep an eye open for this one in another pattern, ha ha!

I actually have two WIPs going.  The other is a pair of hitherto-unmentioned legwarmers.  I started it around Christmastime and haven’t gotten back to it lately.  Maybe there will be pictures in the next post.  Until then, see ya!

