Sweaterless Sleeve

I’ve already ripped this out!  I took a best guess on the number of stitches to cast on and then tried a couple of improvised patterns (the scalloping on the cuff counts).  If my guess had been good, this would be a keeper … but it wasn’t.  Using size 1 (2.25 mm) needles, I’m getting a gauge of 9.5 stitches to the inch.  Gotta add more stitches to get the desired width on this project.  I also tried it on: eek!  Too tight!  The decorative pattern looks best when it’s not stretched out and, thanks to the strands of carried yarn on the inside, the fabric is not as stretchy as plain stockinette.  All good stuff to know for planning!  The next pass will be good, I know it …

Speaking of color, an article in the paper yesterday gave a link to some FREE online software for getting a color palette out of photos.  www.colorexplorer.com Cool!  The article also provided another link for converting the colors to commercial tints (i.e., paints you can buy at the store).  Yarn?  I dunno … yet.  The other link is www.easyrgb.com .  This is EXACTLY what I was looking for when I was designing a brochure last month.  Got by without it.  NOW they tell me!

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


