FO: Coin Cable Raglan Sweater

Whoo, they’re coming fast and furious now!!! 

The Coin Cable Raglan Sweater was my first adult-size garment … although I finished the camisole first.  The problem with the sweater was that I had made the body too long and didn’t feel up to ripping it back and re-knitting.  So the poor thing was banished to a bag where it sat for months.  Once I got it out, it only took a few days to finish, go figure!

an easy cable on sleeves and side
an easy cable on sleeves and side
a loose fit for layering
a loose fit for layering

Please excuse the poor quality of the photos.  Self-photography in a poorly-lit room on a wrinkled sweater (courtesy of its recent life in a bag) doesn’t make for magazine-cover quality, ha ha!

Here are the details: I used The Incredible, Custom-Fit Raglan Sweater pattern by Pamela Costello.  It’s more of an algorithm than a pattern and therefore it’s a keeper!  I had 12 hanks of Knit Picks Wool of the Andes yarn in the “Claret Heather” colorway but I think I used about 10.  I used size 8 needles (large circular for the body, small circular for the sleeves and DPNs for the cuffs).

I used the “Slip-Cross Coin Cable” stitch pattern from Barbara Walker’s “A Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns”.  It’s doesn’t require a cable needle and there is only one crossing of stitches every 8 rows.  That was handy for keeping track of the decreases down the sleeves because I decreased every 8 rows too!

Good thing about knitting the whole sweater in one piece from the top down: you can try it on as you go.  (You need to put the body onto some waste yarn or thread on a second large circular needle, but it’s worth it.)  Bad thing about knitting the whole sweater in one piece: you have to lug the whole thing around with you wherever you go.  Also: knit the sleeves first and then the body.  When you’re knitting the sleeves, you turn the sweater around a lot and it’s a pain when the whole dang body is attached!

Note to self for next time: use a more flexible bind-off than the standard one (at least for the collar).

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


