Cast on for Summer!

It was a low-key Fourth of July weekend with family visiting.  We talked, listened to birdsong and went for a couple of walks in scenic places (a beautiful garden and a shop-lined street).   The only knitting I did was a test swatch for the Green Soleil, a project I decided on last week.

The gauge is a tiny bit looser than that in the pattern, but this is a two-sided swatch and the project will be knit in the round.  You can see from this picture that my purl and knit rows aren’t all that well-matched.  Knitting in the round will eliminate the purl rows, so there!  I decided to use metal needles too.  In my experience with socks, I have found that I knit a little more firmly with metal.  That’s enough information to go ahead with the project, I think. 

This yarn,  Patons Grace in the “Ginger” colorway, is a mercerized cotton.  I like it a lot, although I haven’t completed any projects with it!  I bought a skein of the “Azure” colorway long ago and knit a swatch of lace with it.  It was so pretty that I used it for the background of my blog header.   I also went out and bought 11 more skeins without even having a project in mind.  My stash consists of 6 skeins of the “Ginger” colorway, 3 of the “Azure” and 3 of “Spearmint” (a variegated colorway that matches the others).  I struggled to find a project that would suit the yarn and the colors and started a cardigan last summer.  It turns out that I didn’t want stripes.   On Thursday, I converted that UFO back to yarn and started the swatch for this new project. 

On the afternoon of the holiday, my sister-in-law pulled her easel and some canvases out of her car and offered to paint some portraits.  She painted me and my other sister-in-law before the day’s light gave out.  Hey, if I was going to be sitting for a while … might as well knit!  So the beginning of this project is captured in paint.  Dorothy took a better picture and will probably comment on it in her Daily Painting Journal, check it out!

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


