Old News!

Oh, boy! I’ve been busier than a one-armed paper hanger!  (That’s how it goes, right?)  I spent the month of May taking in more info than I could possibly absorb about teaching English as a Second Language, thanks to an excellent training course at the Lado International College.   I can’t say enough good things about this course and the three trainers there!  In fact, it’s not over … I’m still working on the post-course requirements (a final exam and other work) which are all due at the end of this month.  Needless to say, this has put a major damper on my knitting …

As noted a few days ago, I did finish the lovely and easy cotton wrap and I’ve already worn it several times.  (It helps that the weather has been dreary and damp!)  I also completed a cotton belt that I had begun last summer.  Sheez, it only took a day or so to finish it.  I don’t know what was taking so long!  Here’s a pic:

I have now resumed the Vinnland socks.  What a drama they have turned out to be!  They were supposed to be a quick interim project … squeezed in before I got earnest about Christmas knitting last year.  I started them last August.  Yes, that’s right: August.  Oy.

I LOVE the Vinnland sock pattern!  I LOVE the yarn!  But it seems that the short row heel was simply not going to work for me.  And the attempts I made to correct the fit just didn’t do it.  I like to knit two socks in parallel (on two sets of needles) and so I tried two variations of the short row heels (one on each sock).  No dice.   I ripped one of those back and went to a tried-and-true heel pattern: the AWESOME  Toe-up Socks with a Difference by Wendy Johnson.  I used it on my Prism Socks and they fit really well.

My poor Vinnlands have been sitting there waiting for me to return to them for months … Last night, I got them out and I could hardly remember what was what!  But it only took a little while to get back into the swing of things.  A bit of knitting last night, a bit of knitting on the train to and from Philly today, and (yay!) I have completed a heel with the new pattern and tried it on: yessss!  It fits most excellently.   This evening I ripped out the other heel and there should be a lovely new one sometime over the next week.

There is that pesky exam to finish, however … !

