Surprise!

Have you ever gotten into a state where the knitting just isn’t flowing on your current projects?  I’m working on two scarves at the same time because I was hoping that switching back and forth would keep them “fresh”.  Well, that ain’t the case this month!  I love both scarves but I find myself making big mistakes and progress is slow.   So, over the weekend I dropped both scarves and batted out a BSJ.  Surprise!

The seams and buttons aren’t actually sewn in this picture, but everything else is finished.  This is my second Baby Surprise Jacket.  As an experiment, I decided to make a smaller one.  I used #6 needles did fewer rows in the “back-and-forth” section of the pattern.  The yarn is Lion Brand Wool (“Perfect for Felting”) in Dark Teal 178 and Flower Garden 202, the colors in this picture are close but a little washed out.  I like the way this pattern looks with the small stripes.  Next time I do stripes, I’ll leave out the multicolored strip.  That was an attempt to even out the yarn usage between the two colors.  Didn’t work, I still had a little of the multicolored yarn left and I had to break out the second skein of the teal yarn to finish up.  I’d say that, all in all, I used just a tad more than 6 oz.  It’s satisfying to get an FO in two days and nice to get a sweater out of one continuous piece of knitting.

Ahhh!

Now, back to the never-ending Christmas scarves!  Or … maybe just a little bit of sock-knitting first?

I ripped one of the Vinnlands back to before the heel and started a gusset in a tried-and-true configuration for this number of stitches.  I think I should have done something about the kinky yarn cuz the newly-knitted sock looks a little funky at first (maybe the kinks will settle out after the sock is washed?).  But I can tell the new heel will be excellent!  Only spent about an hour on this, but I really want to get going and finished these before the end of January!

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


