Dark Places Revealed

In a knitting blog??   You guessed correctly: this is not some deep psychodramatic confessional moment … I was chatting over on Ravelry about the book “Mosaic Knitting” by Barbara G. Walker and I noted that I like her books so much that I can’t even keep them on the bookshelf.  Like many knitters, I often wander off mentally to explore ideas for future projects while working on today’s knitting.  If the current project is lace, this can spell d-i-s-a-s-t-e-r but when cranking out a swath of stockinette, it’s part of the fun.  The thing is, you start asking yourself questions such as “what are some stitch patterns that combine cables and lace?” or “what would a twisted slipped stitch look like?”  This is where you reach for The Books.  So they have to be handy.  Like, right under the couch:

That’s all four of the Treasuries, plus Mosaic Knitting.  Please note the bits of paper hanging out of each one!  Most of those are marking ideas for the Christmas scarves project, but some of them are just relics.  You can get the books at a number of places, but Schoolhouse Press also has other titles that are likely to be valuable additions to a home knitting library.  Not that I’m hinting about Christmas or anything …

Last night, I shoved all of the works in progress aside and started another one … the Scrunchy Slouchy Slipper Socks I’ve had queued for hubby.  They’re on the November list of the Thrifty Knitters Sock Club at Ravelry, so I kinda wanted to get them going.  It’s a very high-gratification project, IMO, because you can get half a sock done in one day!  Here’s yesterday’s effort:

 Hubby asked if I could make them non-slip somehow.  There are a couple of DIY ways to do it, but then I found these: Grippies . I think it will be handy to have a pack or two of these in the supply drawer.

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


