Staghorn and Snake

I’ve decided that the Vinnland socks must go into hibernation for a while.  I looove the stitch pattern and the yarn, but I’ve spent a lot of time doing and redoing the short row heel and it just isn’t working out for me.  On sock 1, I finished the heel and it’s wearable but it’s too narrow at the bottom (extra sock poofs out at the tip of the heel).  On sock 2, I made adjustments and it fits better but is still kinda tight.  I’m going to rip both and let the socks rest until their charm becomes apparent again.  I have a feeling these socks are going to end up with a gusset heel this time around!

I’m now devoting all knitting energy to the Christmas scarf project … it’s nice to have two scarves going at once, when one starts getting “stale”, I can switch to the other for a while. 

It’s a rainy day, so the photos aren’t very detailed, but I hope you can see how nicely the Staghorn scarf drapes.  It feels substantial and I’m expecting it to look much better (and photograph better) when it’s blocked.  I want to make some good progress on it this week because it’s been going in fits and starts so far.  Gotta get going; there are 4 scarves yet to be cast on!

I went up one needle size on the Diamondback scarf and it’s coming in at about a foot per ball (just started the second ball).  This is the first time I’ve done a left twist stitch (LT) and I’m trying to execute it neatly and consistently.  The scarf looks a little sloppy but I’m barging onward with confidence (?!) cuz last  year’s experience with lace suggests that the real story will be revealed after blocking.  I love this geomtric pattern and if it blocks nicely, I hope my nephew will feel suave and debonair when he’s wearing it.  (If it doesn’t block so well, I guess he’ll feel “swave and deboner” but maybe he’ll wear it anyway, lol!)

edit: Oh dang,  I wanted to share another Awesome Tree in this post.  Hubby and I totally love encountering the tulip poplar on our walks and hikes.  They’re tall, straight giants with green-orange-yellow flowers in April which attract hummingbirds.  On mature trees, the lowest branches might be 80 feet high … you would need binoculars to see the flowers!!  I recently learned that the tulip poplar is in the magnolia family;  never would have guessed it!  Here’s a quick snap I took on Monday for the blog (prop the camera on a log, turn on the timer and run to pose … that’s why I’m grinning and my foot’s blurry, lol!)

 

I wouldn’t be able to put my ams around either trunk … Awesome Twin Tulip!!  The day before I took this pic, hubby and I bought two of these trees to add to the mix in our backyard.  Ours seem really spindly and small by comparison.  Hah, this is a fast-growing tree, but I doubt we’ll live to see them in their full glory!  But hey, “The true meaning of life is to plant trees, under whose shade you do not expect to sit.”  (Nelson Henderson)

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


