WIP: Diamondback Scarf

I know I haven’t finished the Staghorn scarf yet (or the Vinnland socks, for that matter) but I was needing to shake things up a bit.  I kept getting stuck on both items, doing and redoing the same stretch of yarn … I needed something to break the stalemate!  I started messing around with scarf #2 of the Christmas series, puzzling over stitch pattern combinations and so forth.  Quite a few ideas fizzled before I finally settled on an uncomplicated twist stitch pattern called “Curved Diamonds” from BGW’s Treasury (volume 2) with a garter stitch border.  The swatch was looking so good, I decided to just keep going and it’s been going fine since yesterday … If you’re stuck in “doing and redoing” mode, I guess it’s a good idea to burn it on something useful: the trial and error phase for a new project!

This scarf started off with the name “Rapunzel’s Diamonds” but the stitch patterns that inspired it are no longer being used.  After such a cool original name, I was resisting “Curved Diamonds” … I mean, how boring is that?  I asked hubby to take a look at my swatch and tell me what he saw and he said “Ummmm, diamondback?”   Perfect!  I give you the Diamondback Scarf:

It ain’t the best photo in the world, but it’s good enough to show the pattern.  When finished, this scarf will be the length of a good-sized Eastern Diamondback Rattlesnake (5-6 feet).  The pattern does remind me of the markings you would see if you should encounter one of Pennsylvania’s resident vipers while hiking on the Appalachian Trail … and the border is garter stitch!  Garter snake?  Well yeah?!

I’m committed to the blue yarn for this project but if I were to make the scarf again, I would use something like this Trekking yarn I used for hubby’s socks.  Or maybe the new kettle dyed yarn from Knit Picks in the “Timber” colorway … 

I think I’m over the hump, so time to get back to the other projects with refreshed enthusiasm!

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


