Tree Appreciation

There was knitting done this week, but nothing exciting to report, really.  It’s just about heel-time for the Vinnland socks.  The Staghorn scarf is nearing the halfway point.  I did some heavy planning for the second scarf in the series … couldn’t get the intended stitch patterns to go together without a 60 row pattern (argh!) so Plan B is now in effect.  Since it’s all just scratches on paper, there are no pictures!  Maybe next time …

It’s always a pleasure to notice a nice mature tree, but trees have been on my mind a lot more than usual these days.  First, we’re considering adding some trees to our property and have been tree-shopping now that fall’s approaching. We’d prefer trees that are native to this area, so now we’re noticing what’s growing around us in a new light!  I’ve also been doing some extra walking lately and that has given me a chance to see the local trees at close range.  Although these parts have been populated since before the Revolutionary War, we’re not too far from Valley Forge and you know what that means … they had to fire up the forge with something, right?  Trees!  There are many leafy neighborhoods with mature trees (which is one of the things we love most about living here) but I bet your truly ancient tree is a rare find.  I can’t tell a tree’s age anyway, so I’m hereby declaring that any tree I can’t wrap my arms all the way around is officially “awesome”!  I’ve taken some cell phone pictures of impressive trees over the last week or so, but I’m not sure how well those will come out when I finally get a chance to transfer them over.   In any case, it was easy enough to run out and snap a couple of the excellent trees right in our own yard … so here’s the first in a sporadic series of photos to honor Awesome Trees.   I wonder if this one’s 50 or 60 years old? (Doing the “awesome” test is an excellent excuse to hug a tree, by the way!)

Appended note: Hey, the cell phone pics came out way better than I thought they would!

The above is a treat I get to experience on those occasions when I walk to the train station.  It’s on what was once a Victorian estate, the man who lived there died in 1905, so I’m guessing this tree is over 100 years old.

I passed this tree when walking through Ardmore, PA.  Please note the park bench to the right for a little perspective!

2 Responses to “Tree Appreciation”


  1. 1 Knittah September 8, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    Oooo, I love trees! I especially like the second to the last one you showed.

  2. 2 Dorothy September 18, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Gorgeous trees! great photos. I love to paint trees. Fall is coming which is the best time to paint them ~ when they have on their eye-popping best colors!


Leave a Reply

