FO: A Prism Rainbow

I’m so happy with this color combination, and the pattern is just right for it!

 

When I saw pooling in pictures of other socks knit with the “Fly Fishing” colorway of Memories sock yarn from Knit Picks, I searched for a pattern that would minimize it … I think Prism did a great job!  It was easy too.  I did the socks toe-up, finishing with EZ’s sewn bind-off.   Lots of yarn left over, maybe this pattern would look cute in some fingerless gloves?  (Like I’m gonna have time for that … the queue is about to take on holiday knitting, ha ha!)

Did I say “holiday knitting”??  Here’s the yarn, it just came in from Knit Picks:

This is Andean Silk which is alpaca, silk and merino.  Very squishy!  This was the closest I could get to the actual colors … I think the blue one isn’t really that bright.  I used the lighter green yarn to make a test swatch:

Yes, there are a couple of errors … I just wanted to see if the needle size — #8 — was good with the yarn and to get an estimate of how many stitches to cast on for each of the SIX manly scarves that are planned.  I love how this yarn feels and drapes so far, it will make a wonderful scarf!!  I spent the morning narrowing down the stitch patterns (this, of course, is open to constant revision!!).  The one in the picture didn’t make the final cut.

And since I finished my August socks with a week left, I cast on for a pre-September pair!  I’m insane.  On a positive note, I love the yarn and the pattern so much!!!  Here ya go:

This toe-up pattern is called Vinnland and the yarn is Valley Yarns Franklin in the “spruce” colorway.  I expected a slightly more solid-color look, but I love it as it is.  The pattern is cool too.  It’s secretly a 2 x 2 ribbing with some increases and decreases which create the pattern.  I wanted to squeeze in another pair of socks cuz I have a feeling my September socks may drag into October  or November now that scarves are taking over, hah!

2 Responses to “FO: A Prism Rainbow”


  1. 1 Pen August 24, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    I like the Vinnland socks! They’re gorgeous!


  1. 1 Old News! « KEFKnits Trackback on June 19, 2009 at 1:03 am

Leave a Reply

