Shoes News

Been waiting all summer for cooler weather to kick in so I can wear some handknit socks!  In the meantime, I’ve been thinking about what shoes would show them off best.  It occurred to me that sandals would be great!  Well, as long as they don’t have a thongy-thingie … Sure, sandal season ends on Labor Day but what if you’re wearing woolen socks with them?  I went to the JC Penney web site and found a pair on sale that looked like it might work.  What do you think?

 

The one problem with buying shoes online is: you don’t get to try them on.  I wasn’t sure if the thickness of the handknits would be an issue so I ordered one half-size larger than usual.  Turns out, it wasn’t necessary.  In fact, the shoes look a little big in the back.  But hey, they were $15!!  They’re called Cabin Creek ‘Shell’ and they’re still on sale, get ’em while they last!

So, today I’m walking past an Aerosole shop with *no* intention to buy anything (really!) when I saw another sock-worthy pair of shoes in the window.  Here is a shoe called ‘Open Door: 

Are these the cutest or what??  They cost three times as much as the other pair, though.  Well, I needed shoes for showing off socks.  They’ll get good use!  Both pairs are fairly flat.  I bought these in my regular size too.  I tried on the half-size larger and they were definitely too large for me.  I think this style would look best on a narrow-to-normal foot.  Mine’s a little wide, and they look OK.  Just sayin’ …

1 Response to “Shoes News”


  1. 1 Diane(2knit) August 17, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    LOVE the open doors!


Leave a Reply

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


