Quickie WIPs

Of course, there have been other projects on the needles over the last couple of weeks in addition to the socks!  I used some of the leftover cotton yarn from the Crest of the Wave wrap to start a simple slip stitch belt:

Funny thing is: I think I’m going to run out of the lighter color and will have to go buy another skein.   Only a few inches left, but that little bit ain’t gonna cut it … the project’s now temporarily paused.  So, I went to the stash and grabbed some more cotton (Lily Sugar ‘n Cream in their “Super Size” quantities … oh, there will be enough!) and started another slip stitch belt:

As soon as the Monkeys were set loose, I got another pair of socks going too.  The Better-Than-Booties Baby Socks by Ann Budd.  The pattern is free, but you need to register on the web site to have access to it.  I deviated from the pattern in that I used worsted weight yarn and size US #4 needles and I continued the cable pattern onto the top of the foot.  This sock will fit a kid, not a baby … It’s going to a charity that wants socks in all sizes.  I learned a different short row technique than was used on my hiking socks and the fun and easy “zig zag” bind-off … no toe grafting!

This sock took 1 Big Day (lots of time for knitting) or 2 Small Days (knitting in spare time) to do.  Time to go cast on sock number 2 …

0 Responses to “Quickie WIPs”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

