FO: Purple Monkeys

At last, the purple Monkeys have been freed from the needles!

I was very happy with the yarn (Louet Gems Fingering in the “grape” colorway) and I enjoyed the pattern a lot!  The only modification I made was that I shifted down one needle size after finishing the leg portion of the socks.  I wanted to be sure that the lace stretched open over the foot portion too.  I think the socks fit very well, probably the best fitting socks so far!  I used US #2 (2.75mm) needles for the legs and US# 1.5 (2.5mm) for the heel and foot.  I know the design is intended to show off variegated yarn, but I really wanted to highlight the lace so I chose a solid color.  I used the Old Norwegian Cast-On because I think it gives a flexible edge that goes over a heel nicely.

2 Responses to “FO: Purple Monkeys”


  1. 1 Hoc Age July 28, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    I agree, the solid colour shows off the lovely lace design.
    I haven’t tried the Old Norwegian cast on, but is very simular to the Twisted German one I use.
    Your “Monkeys” look lovely.

  2. 2 Diane(2knit) July 29, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Lovely. Lovely!


Leave a Reply

