Shrug for a Snug Bug

Hoo boy!  The knitting part of the “Available Materials Only Mosaic Baby Shrug”, based on a pattern from Debbie Bliss, is complete:

Mosaic Baby Shrug

I still have to weave in the ends and sew up (under the sleeves and down each side).  Now that the edging is finished, I don’t think the mosaic decoration looks quite as “dramatic” as it did at first.  That’s a good thing!  The color in this picture is a little on the blue side; it’s a rainy day and I used available light.  I’m pleased with how the multicolored yarn arranged itself symmetrically too.   I had nothing to do with it, but it looks great!  Oh, and the decorative stripe was necessary … I absolutely could not have done this with just the one skein.  I don’t have the needles called for in the pattern (long circulars in size 7 and 8) Huh?  Oh, cuz I typed an “8” and a “)” together) so I squished a lot of stitches onto a shorter #10 circular needle for the body and mashed even more stitches onto a long #9 straight needle for the trim.  It wasn’t pretty, but it worked.  I guess the larger needles may have something to do with why I needed extra yarn (I didn’t change the pattern)!

0 Responses to “Shrug for a Snug Bug”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

