Save Those TP Tubes! (Plus: FO!)

I love when the winds of life blow a little something your way just when you’re looking for it … or maybe you notice it because you’re looking for it?  Could be!  Anyway, I was all proud of myself for coming up with the toilet-paper-tube trick for winding lace weight yarn and then today on ravelry I stumbled onto this excellent post from Beachside Knitter.  She not only did the same tubie-thing, but took it where it needed to go: to a (edit) toilet paper holder … brilliant!  I’m sorry to read about the stress she went through on the way to making that discovery, but maybe she’ll take solace that her hardship has spared others down the road.  (I’m tellin’ ya, knitting via the Internet is soooo cool!)

Oh, did I mention that I finished the Cabletini Socks?  If you’re in the Thrifty Knitters Sock Club, then you’ve had your fill of them by now, hah … for anyone else who’s interested, here they are!!

Cabletini Toe-up Socks

Because I’m documenting my “Beginner Experience”, now would be a good time to review what was new for me: toe-up socks, Judy’s Magic Cast-On, short row heel, #1 (2.25 mm) needles, EZ’s sewn bind-off.  I also learned to twist a stitch at the needle joins (I used dpns) to avoid laddering and, further, that twisting the first purl makes for a tidier purl section between cables.  That the sewn bind-off is more flexible than the standard bind-off and thus makes it easier to pull the sock past the heel when putting it on.  (There are other flexible bind-off techniques still to try!)  I learned that knitting both socks at once really does reduce Second Sock Syndrome, that knitting a sock with cables on dpns requires all 5 needles (or even 6, if it’s for a man), that cats like to gnaw on pointy wooden things left lying around, and that delicate wooden sticks will go “SNAP!” if you try to squeeze a fat foot into an unfinished sock.  So 1) learn to do socks with a long circular needle, or 2) get lots and lots of dpns 2a) in metal or 2b) if you insist on using wood, then get dpn-protectors and use them!

 Here are more pictures, cuz the proud “sock momma” went snap-happy:

    

1 Response to “Save Those TP Tubes! (Plus: FO!)”


  1. 1 loosepurls February 19, 2008 at 3:40 am

    I have sock envy!!! Those are so cool! I really am going to attempt socks one of these days!


Leave a Reply

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


