The Latest in Vulcan Headwear (FO! Free Pattern! Yay!)

In answer to a call for some charity knitwear, I used some leftover Wool-Ease to make a hat:

Tricorder HatTricorder Hat (top)

I call it the Tricorder Hat.  Yes, the name is a play on words!  The hat looks as if it has cords in groups of three draping the head and ending in tassels.  It’s also a nod to Mr. Spock, who hid his ears under a woolen hat in a 1967 episode of Star Trek called “City on the Edge of Forever”.

Once you get the hang of doing the twisted stitches, this hat is a pretty easy knit.  The twist requires skipping a stitch and knitting one, knitting the skipped stitch and then slipping both off the needle. At first, it was tricky to get the needle under the first stitch in order to knit it. I ended up putting the needle though both stitches as if to K2TOG, then backing the needle out a bit and inserting it between the stitches.  After I figured this out, the project went quickly!

 I’ve posted the Tricorder Hat pattern on my Free Patterns page, hope you like it!

5 Responses to “The Latest in Vulcan Headwear (FO! Free Pattern! Yay!)”


  1. 1 smithmott January 20, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    I love your hat! Kudos. It looks like it would be very complicated.

  2. 2 Kathy January 20, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Thanks! Yeh, I love a pattern that looks hard but secretly isn’t all that bad!!

  3. 3 J.Latria October 21, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Great hats, i love cotton hats it save my in winter

  4. 4 A. Sales April 26, 2009 at 4:11 am

    I am a new knitter trying to knit this hat and R3 is totally throwing me off. What does the * after K1 mean? Thanks!!!

    • 5 Kathy April 28, 2009 at 9:21 pm

      That’s shorthand for “Do a K1 one time only, and then repeat everything after the * over and over until you run out of stitches.” It is kind of tricky because when you get to the last K2 of the last repeat, you will only have 1 stitch left. That’s OK. Remember that lonely K1 you knit at the beginning? Just use it to complete the last K2 (knit the last stitch together with the first stitch). It turns out I had to do that to get the crown decrease pattern to work out.

      Sorry I didn’t explain that better in the pattern! I hope it’s clear now …


Leave a Reply

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


