I felt really, really bad …

… and I’m laughing like crazy!  So, I thought I’d give felting a try since a) I was doing laundry, b) I have a couple of wool swatches sitting around and c) I saw a pretty FO I’d like to try knitting someday.  I selected two oldies with some nice texture:

Felting (before)

 And I put ’em in the washer with a couple of pairs of old jeans and some soap.  Then I set the washer to “extended wash” and “sanitize” (very, very hot water!).  Think I overdid it a bit?

Felting (after)

I can’t stop laughing!!!  OK, I guess I’ll go read some instructions or something … (as soon as I recover, oooh, sides aching)!

4 Responses to “I felt really, really bad …”


  1. 1 sleepknitting January 8, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Ops! – at least they were just swatches and not a whole finished object! Felting is a lot of fun, but I find it very trial and error.

  2. 2 Kathy January 8, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Yeh, I guess it’s good to make a big error at the start … set expectations, ha ha!

  3. 3 loosepurls January 9, 2008 at 4:22 am

    You have me laughing!! I think your “sanitize” setting must be pretty darn good! My felting experience is so limited, but at least you now know that felting is not a problem in a front loading machine!! Good luck on the next one!!

  4. 4 Kathy January 9, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    I was wondering if the front loader would be OK … no worries on that point!!


Leave a Reply

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


