Birth of the Department Store Lurker

Inspired by a humorous post from Bethany and associated comments HERE, I’ve been thinking about how my shopping experience has changed since I took up knitting. I’m serious: I don’t shop all that much but when I do, it takes twice as long now because I have to examine all the knitted goods! I don’t want to buy them, just get pattern ideas. If only I could take notes or something … hey! I just got a new cell phone with camera!! I’m guessing store security will not like this at all, but I’m going to try it. And I’m not a good text-message-typer, but there is a “notepad” feature in that phone for quick fiber content notes. Hmmm, this could be interesting …

5 Responses to “Birth of the Department Store Lurker”


  1. 1 Gina December 3, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    I’ve decided I’m taking a camera with me every time I enter a clothing store so that I have a visual reference of things I want to knit, lol. I never thought about a notepad. Hmm… I wonder what the management at Wal-Mart would think if they saw someone walking around, fondling clothing, taking pictures, writing things down, and not purchasing anything remotely related to clothing…

  2. 2 Kathy December 3, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    Zackly! Maybe you could dress in a suit and they’ll think you’re from Corporate, come to check up on them, lol! Hey, how about trying the clothing on and doing the photo-shoot and note-taking in the dressing room … oooh, other people in the dressing room might not like the idea of someone with a camera …

  3. 3 hookedupknits December 4, 2007 at 3:31 am

    LOL I bet you could smuggle your cellphone cam into the dressing room, take pics of it all there! 🙂

  4. 4 Gina December 4, 2007 at 7:29 am

    How about “shopping” with a friend, and walking to the area just outside of the dressing room while the friend takes a picture? That would be a little more realistic. Well, if you believe reality shows, it is, lol. No cameras in the fitting room, and no suspicious picture taking and note taking at the racks. It would be like you’re shopping with a friend and can’t make up your mind. Then you not only have a visual reference, but you can get an idea of what the FO would look like while you’re wearing it. But that wouldn’t work for gifts for other people (unless you have the same body type)…

    I think my knitting obsession has taken a new turn, haha!

  5. 5 Kathy December 4, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    I am SO going to try this … I like the idea of trying stuff on to see how it looks before bothering to figure out how to knit it!


Leave a Reply

FREE PATTERNS!

Welcome! If you're on the hunt for Free Patterns, check my header. Happy knitting to you! Kathy

My Flicker Pictures


