Plait Cable Scarf Pattern

Just under the weather wire! A new scarf is up for winter duty before the cold sets in:

Plait Cable Scarf

This scarf will be warm in another way: it carries memories of family. It was my primary travel project over the last three weeks. We flew to Kansas to visit my sister-in-law and, although I had a more compact lace project with me too, this is the one I pulled out. Simply put, I could work it in poor light and/or without glasses! For some reason the cable needle didn’t feel cumbersome. I guess I’ve gotten used to the motions of grabbing it, using it, and wedging it away (I tuck one end under a leg so it stays put). By the time of our Thanksgiving visit to my family the scarf was 3 feet long … but that was train travel. It’s less cramped than the plane.  Edit: I mentioned in an earlier post that I was working out my purl technique and so the stockinette part of this scarf is a little flaky looking.  It definitely looks smoother at the end (yay!).  I’m sure your scarf (if you choose to knit one) will look even better …

Alright, alright, let’s get to the meat of this post: the pattern!  The Plait Cable Scarf pattern is now officially added my Free Patterns page. I’m no expert, so there could be ambiguities.  And I did use my own abbreviations for the cabling process.  I will gladly explain or clarify and apologize in advance for the possibility of errors.  I’ve read and re-read it, but you never know … please share any suggestions for improvement; it will help me write better patterns in the future!

EDIT on 3/11/08: There was an error in the original plait cable scarf pattern which I corrected a while ago but the link above still pointed to the old version.  I’m sorry about that and have fixed the link.  If you’ve printed the pattern out, please double-check that you have the new one.  The name of the newer file is “plait-cable-scarf-v2.pdf” and there is a red note (kinda like this one!) at the end of the printout.

4 Responses to “Plait Cable Scarf Pattern”


  1. 1 Sophie August 30, 2009 at 3:14 am

    OMGosh, that is gorgeous. Basic and still oh so elegant.

    • 2 Kathy August 30, 2009 at 2:01 pm

      Thank you! When it’s wrapped inside a jacket, the side cables show very nicely at the neck!

      • 3 Sophie September 1, 2009 at 4:39 am

        So, I’m a new knitter and I’ve begun this pattern, because I’m hopeful I can tackle it. (YouTube is helping me with cabling.)

        One major question because I’ve already ran into a snag. I’m confused about line 2 of the cuff section. (I’ve underlined the part I don’t get.)

        *P2 CF2 K2 KCF K2 [P2 K2] twice *P2 CF2 K2 KCF K2 P2
        ——- —–

        What do you mean by “twice?” and what is up with the brackets? Help!

      • 4 Sophie September 1, 2009 at 4:41 am

        The underlining didn’t stay where I put them. Basically, it’s the brackets and the word “twice” that is confusing the heck out of me. I’m not quite sure what part I’m supposed to do twice.


Leave a Reply

