The Mitten Experiment

I’m amazed and impressed by some of the wonderful knitting blogs out there, but at the same time a little intimidated … will I ever get to the point where I can knit such wonderful projects?  Actually, I’m pretty happy trying out your basic techniques.  Hey, they’re new to me anyway!

Over the last week or so, it’s been “The Mitten Experiment”.  It seems that the unique part of making a basic mitten is the thumb and there are several techniques for that.  Not knowing where to start, I found a nice (free) pattern and tried it out.  The pattern is here:

http://www.midnightknitter.com/knitpixiepatterns/uploads/mittens_two.htm

and my attempt at it is here:

Mitten 1

I didn’t weave the ends in because this mitten is waay too small for me.  But it served as a good trial — got a feel for doing a thumb gusset anyway!  I decided to think out some adjustments for size and try again but just as in cooking, I can never do something the same way twice.  (Given that mittens come in pairs, this is not an auspicious sign, ha ha!)  I ended up with a totally different mitten.  It fits a bit better, but I think it still needs some refinement:

Mitten 2

I think the thumb could be smaller and the hand body could be wider.  Some day, I hope to knit a right-hand mitten too …

0 Responses to “The Mitten Experiment”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

